Annual Golf Outing 2016

Annual Golf Outing 2016

By Admin, Friday, 11th November 2016 | 0 comments
Filed under: Social.

The Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Annual Golf challenge

Friday 13th May 2016


The hottest day of 2016 so far brought 24 committed golfers back to Dun Laoghaire Golf course which was in impeccable condition just ahead of the 2016 Curtis Cup where next month, Ireland and Great Britain’s top amateurs will take on the USA in the ladies equivalent to the Walker Cup.


The code of dress on Friday was for the most part shorts and shades as the CIArb teams once again played for the Dan McCrystal Cup.


Anthony Hussey handed over the solid silver trophy on signing his team in at about 1pm and showed clear signs that he was determined to hold onto the Hussey Fraser Winners title from last year. Leo Harmon retrieved the cup momentarily to have once last lunch with it on his table before reluctantly handing in over and joining Hugh McCormack and Gerard Meehan on the first tee.   


TKFM fielded at team once again, this time headed by Colin Fulham [Stepping in for Tom Foley] who was joined by Anthony Franey, Peader O’Mahony and John Murphy. The lads had a mighty performance falling short of winning the trophy by only 1.6 strokes!


John Trainor SC made his inaugural appearance at the event as a player, with Myles J Wilson playing off 10 from Newlands GC accompanied by the Druids Glen duo of Vincent Lynch playing off 16 and the always colorful Barry Fogarty playing off 12.


We were honored to have our new Chairman Mr. Gerard Monaghan at his first public appearance fielding his team of Tom Staunton [HC 17], Sean O’Flaherty [HC 22] and Aidan Monaghan [HC 18]. These boys meant business right from the start as the fairway was split with a 300yd drive by Sean!


Jarlath Kearney a familiar and very welcome supporter of this event, [now in its 9th Year in this format, started by our past Chairman the late Dermot Roughan.] Jarlath travelled down representing the Northern Chapter with his team mates Sean Rooney, John McCambridge and Dominic Walsh  [HC’s 12, 12,14 & 17 respectively]


The final team out this year were a team of characters cobbled together and fielded as “The Panel Beaters”. Dudley Solan, Malachy Sweetman and Kevin Harnett [all of Maples & Calder], and indeed yours truly [Not!].


The Results for the Dan McCrystal Perpetual Trophy were as follows:


Nearest The Pin: Anthony Franey [HC 14] TKFM Team


Men’s Longest Drive: Jarlath Kearney [HC 12] Elemental Consultant’s


Third Place: TKFM Team Colin Fulham HC 22: Anthony Franey HC 14, Peader O’Mahony [HC 11] and John Murphy [HC 17] Net Score 64.6 strokes


Runners Up: Elemental Consultants Team Jarlath Kearney [HC12] Sean Rooney [HC 12], John McCambridge [HC 14] and Dominic Walsh [HC 17] Net Score 63.5 strokes


Winners of 2016 CIArb Golf Challenge: Gerard Monaghan’s Team

Mr. Gerard Monaghan [HC 22], Tom Staunton [HC 17], Sean O’Flaherty [HC 22] and Aidan Monaghan [HC 18]. Net Score 63.1 strokes



I would like to extend by sincere congratulations to our new Chairman Gerry for a great win and would like to thank you all for making this significant CIArb social event another one to remember and I look forward to you all returning next year to do battle again!


Kind Regards,            John FFF O’Brien     CIArb Golf Coordinator & Sponsor

Bookmark and Share